Skip to content

Handspun Cotton Top – Top de Verão

December 8, 2020

My struggle with this cotton fiber has been a little epic (spanning 8 years and 4 countries). It’s organic, naturally colored and absolutely stunning. But, as a wool spinner, this was a real challenge, and there were more than a few false starts. When I finally I figured out what this yarn wanted to be, I couldn’t find a pattern that would work well. So, I picked up Good Night, Day’s Welland Sweater Pattern (which I had knit before), did some math, heavily modified it and voila. The result turned out great. I feels and looks even better than I imagined. It’s wearable and light, with a great drape and a very consistent fabric. More pics and technical details here.

Depois de 8 anos e 4 países, finalmente consegui dar a forma que queria a esta fibra de algodão. É orgânico, as cores são naturais e o toque é extremamente suave. Mas foi difícil fiá-lo e tricotar uma peça em que ficasse bem. Como não encontrei um modelo perfeito para a forma que queria, decidi inventar um pouco. Peguei neste modelo que já tinha tricotado antes (em lã), fiz as contas e adaptei. O resultado excedeu as expectativas. É leve, fresco e tem um bom cair. Mais imagens e detalhes aqui.

No comments yet

Leave a comment