Skip to content

Remendar – Mending

April 11, 2016

As minhas meias de Santa Maria já têm quase 30 anos. Foram compradas pelos meus pais e agora sou eu que as uso. São feitas à mão com um fio fiado manualmente, só de um cabo. A lã não tem um toque ’amerinado’, mas para mim tem suavidade mais que suficiente.
Ontem estive a remendar o único buraco que tinham. Usei uma variação desta técnica, com uma agulha grossa e um bocadinho de fio fiado por mim. Agora ficaram mais bonitas e mais ’minhas’. Estão prontas para mais umas décadas de uso.

 

This is one of my favorite pair of socks. It is almost 30 years old and it was bought by my parents in the Azorean island of Santa Maria. They are hand knitted with a single ply hand spun yarn. The wool is not merino-soft, but I find them soft enough and very comfortable.
Yesterday I mended the only little hole that ever appeared. I used my own intuitive variation of this stitch, with a tapestry needle and some of my own natural hand spun. I couldn’t be happier to have them back on my feet. And I am hoping they will stay there for a few more decades.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

