Skip to content

Dyeing in August II: Líquens – Tingir em Agosto II: Lichens

September 1, 2013

Digital StillCamera

Foram apanhados há meses, em Mogadouro, no princípio do Verão e já estavam bem secos, agarrados às estevas. Depois de meses no saco, foi altura de testar. A opinião público-familiar estava cética – era demasiado fácil, eram demasiado brancos. Eu já tinha visto várias experiências online e estava certa de que ía resultar. Mas quando a água de ferver os líquenes continuava branca a transparente, também eu tive as minhas dúvidas.

Depois do alúmen (não é obrigatório, mas gosto de usar sempre, por via das dúvidas) a lã foi a cozer, com líquenes e tudo, tal era o meu medo. E dali a pouco,  ficou amarela. E dali a uma hora lá estava ela dourada.

Funciona, e de que maneira.

Digital StillCamera

They were picked several months ago, in the Portuguese Northeast, and they were already dry clinging to the branches. After months in a bag, it was time to test them. The general household opinion was skeptic – it was too easy, they were too white. I had seen a number of experiments online and I was sure it was going to work. But when the water in which I was boiling the lichens continued to be white to transparent, I also had my doubts.

After mordanting with alum (optional, but I like to use it always, just in case) I boiled the wool with the liquens still in the pot. In a little while, it turned yellow. In an hour, it was definitely looking golden.

It works, it really does.

Digital StillCamera

 

Digital StillCamera

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2013 7:59 am

    Very nice! would like to ask, when you dye with natural ingredients do you add vinegar to it?? and how long did you leave the wool in the hot water?? Thank you.

    • September 2, 2013 4:20 pm

      I almost never add vinegar. I use alum, which is a non-toxic (cheap and abundant) mineral that fixates color very well. I mordant the wool before I dye it.
      I like to be on the safe side, so I boiled this one for about an hour and left it in the water overnight, until it cooled down. Hope it’s helpful =)

      • September 2, 2013 8:28 pm

        Wow…. its all new lingo for me, mordant the wool with alum instead of vinegar, boil it with the lichens? I would like to try this. Muchos gracias Senora!

Trackbacks

  1. Shop Update: Lichens – Novidades: Líquenes | The Flying Fleece

Leave a Reply

