Skip to content

Lady Day on knitting

April 17, 2013

Billie Holiday, on her year in the Federal Woman’s Reformatory in 1947.

“The only thing I wanted besides butts was a little yarn to knit with. I got on the knitting kick fairly early and it really helped me from going nuts. I had an idea I could do it, but I really didn’t know how. The girl next to me, Marietta, from San Francisco, who was in for forgery, she really taught me how in her spare time. (…)

After Marietta taught me, I knitted up a storm and got real fancy. I made cable knit sweaters for Bobby Tucker and his little boy. After I got to be a wheel in the kitchen, I used to take care of Marietta by saving her the best of the food, especially when she came home for lunch.”

From Lady Sings the Blues by Billie Holiday with William Dufty

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

