Skip to content

“Super Natural Cardigan”

January 14, 2013

I’ve finished this a couple of months ago, it has kept me warm in England, America and the Czech lands (the wonders of 100% wool garments…).

I am very proud of it because it is my first big project showcasing my naturally hand-dyed yarns. The yoke is all me: handspun and hand-dyed using onion skins, cochineal, osage and blackberries. Knitted and designed during my departure from Canada, it is my last great goodbye to the mountains of the inlet and the foggy grey mornings that carried me to class, to “Super Natural British Columbia”.

Image

Já o acabei há alguns meses, já esteve comigo a manter-me quente em Inglaterra, na América e na República Checa (é a maravilha dos fios 100% lã).

Estou muito orgulhosa deste projecto, o primeiro em que uso e valoriso os fios fiados e tingidos por mim. A parte de cima, a cores, é toda da minha autoria: fiados à mão e tingidos com cascas de cebola, amoras, osage (uma laranjeira americana) e cochineal (insectos mexicanos). Tricotado e concebido durante a minha partida do Canadá, é a minha despedida das montanhas dos inlets, do nevoeiro matinal e da “Super Natural British Columbia”.

Image

The original pattern is the “King of Confidence” by Ann Weaver. It is amazingly well-designed and it allowed me to turn these really bulky handspuns into part of a seemingly delicate pieced. The gauge and the construction are clever and not overly complicated. I modified the yoke (easy) to suit my needs and tastes exactly.

More technical info/photos: Ravelry

Image

O modelo original é o “King of Confidence” da Ann Weaver. É um casaco muito bem desenhado e com o qual consegui integrar fios bastante grossos numa peça mais delicada sem problemas nem choques. A tensão e construção são bem pensados mas sem complicar. Alterei a parte de cima (yoke), o que foi bastante fácil. Assim ficou tal e qual o imaginei.

Mais info/fotos: Ravelry

Image

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

