Skip to content

Winter Travels part II – Viagens de Inverno part II

December 27, 2012

New York City, USA

After the rural picturesque Peak District in England I returned to Portugal and, two days later, got back on the road… to the airport. I was immensely curious about New York, a mythical place.  And, I confess, all my expectations were surpassed. I fell in love with the city. It took my breath away and breathed new life into me.

Depois das paisagens rurais e bucolicas do Peak District inglês, voltei a Portugal, durante dois dias, e depois voltei a fazer-me à estrada… para o aeroporto. Estava muito curiosa em relação a Nova York, esse lugar praticamente mítico. E, devo confessar, as minha expectativas foram todas ultrapassadas. Apaixonei-me pela cidade. Tirou-me o folgo e deu-me um novo.

Image

The Reservoir, Central Park

I didn’t visit a knitting shop, I left that for a next time. But I had the opportunity to go to several lovely vintage and specialty design boutiques from which I brought tons of inspiration. Old sweater designs and new silhouettes,retro acetate glasses, altered 90’s jackets and a plaid shirt here and there….

Não visitei lojas de fios ou lãs, achei melhor ficar para a próxima. Mas tive oportunidade de ver várias boutiques de design especializado e vintage, de onde trouxe muita inspiração. Camisolas de malha em modelos clássicos e novas silhuetas, óculos retro em acetato, blusões alterados dos anos 90 e uma camisa xadrez aqui e ali…

Image

Fire escapes, like in the movies

Writing verses on paper bags under the winter sun, talking with old friends over wine and cocktails, laughing on Manhattan rooftops, getting lost and found in the chaotic streets,  and contemplating majestic and intriguing lamassus. Maybe it was the lack of sleep, but it still seems like a dream.

Escrever versos em sacos de papel sob o sol de inverno, conversar com velhos amigos por entre copos de vinho e cocktails, gargalhadas a avistar os arranha-céus de Manhattan, horas a perder-me e encontrar-me nas ruas caóticas e a comtemplar imponentes lamassus . Não sei se foi pela falta de sono, mas ainda parece um sonho.

Image

Até algum dia…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

