Skip to content

Beautiful Browns – Tons de Castanho

May 12, 2012

During the 2 weeks of holiday I spent home, I spun 3 skeins of Churra Mirandesa wool, of the last bag I had left. I  was still searching for techniques that worked better with this wool and so I decided to do something different from the last time. I did not card the wool and, instead, spun it into these gorgeous thinner singles. It is basically the traditional way my grandmother taught me. The shades on these fleeces are sooooo gorgeous and, in the sunshine the honey-browns really stand out. I spun them initially for sale but now I think I’ll keep them all =).

Nas duas semanas que passei em casa, de férias, fiei 3 meadas do último saco de Churra Mirandesa que ainda me restava. Ainda estava à procura da melhor técnica para fiar está lã e decidi tentar uma coisa diferente. Não cardei a lã (só abri muito bem) e fiei-a num fio simples e fininho. É basicamente a maneira mais tradicional, que a minha avó me tinha mostrado, só que sem roca.  As cores desta lã são lindíssimas e com o sol os tons de mel ficam ainda mais bonitos. Fiei as meadas inicialmente para a loja, mas acho que vou ficar com elas todas para mim =).

Leave a Reply

