Skip to content

“Dark Side of the Moon”

September 21, 2011

One day I was listening to “Dark Side of the Moon” and reflecting upon its undeniable greateness. I thought back to the t-shirt I had wanting for years, and to the amazing wall painting in  Jean-Marc Vallée’s “C.R.A.Z.Y.”. My roomate had a Dark Side of the Moon poster: what was I going to do to show my love of “Breath”, “Any Colour you Like” or “Eclipse”?

I was going to do the unthinkable: KNIT IT!

Um dia estava a ouvir a minha cópia do “Dark Side of the Moon” e a reflectir na sua inegável grandeza. Pensei na t-shirt que queria ter há anos, e no mural do quarto no filme de Jean-Marc Vallée’s, “C.R.A.Z.Y.”. A minha colega de quarto tinha um poster do Dark Side of the Moon : o que então ia eu fazer para mostrar a minha paixão por “Breath”, “Any Colour you Like” ou “Eclipse”?

Eu ia fazer o impensável: TRICOTÁ-LO!

A marathon of months started. The hardest thing was to get the colour chart right, with enough detail and definition but still doable. I got the yarn from my  favourite LYS and got knitting! There was failure at first (I was new to intarsia) but, after some refinements and start overs I got it right.

This pattern is now available on my online store on Etsy and on Ravelry. I wrote down the simple instructions for the small wall hanging, but the colour chart can be adapted to… anything! I myself am planning a psychadelic sweater soon. The instructions are in English, for now, but I will happily make a Portuguese or French version on demand.

An accessible project for the Pink Floyd fans, to make a wonderful gift for one, or just to have tons of fun with colourwork!

Uma maratona de vários meses tinha começado. O mais difícil foi acertar com a grelha das cores, ter detalhe suficiente mas manter alguma facilidade na execução. Comprei o fio na minha loja de lãs favorita e comecei! Tive alguns problemas e tive de começar de novo e fazer alterações várias vezes. Depois correu às mil maravilhas! 

O modelo está agora disponível na minha loja da Etsy e na Ravelry. Escrevi as instruções para o pequeno “poster” mas a grelha pode ser adaptada a …. tudo! Eu própria estou a planear uma camisola psicadélica a executar num futuro próximo. As instruções estão em Inglês, de momento, mas aceito encomendas para versões em Francês ou Português.


3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 12:45 pm

    OMG! The Floyd and fiber arts! You are a GENIUS🙂 I bow to your awesomeness!
    Dark side is one of the best albums ever created. That would make an excellent beanie hat design too!

  2. theflyingfleece permalink*
    October 5, 2011 9:23 pm

    Thank you so much for your comments =) Yes, I see a beanie right there too! Actually, not a bad idea for when (eventually) I find myself with nothing on my needles…..

Trackbacks

  1. The Dark Side of the Moon, the sweater « The Flying Fleece

Leave a Reply

