Skip to content

Going North and Going Back – Uma viagem a Trás-os-Montes

May 24, 2011

I went to see my grandmother in the Northeast region of Trás-os-Montes, in a small town next to Spain called Mogadouro. The landscape was stunning with the yellow bushes in bloom. During the weekend I picked up some Churra Galega wool (that I posted already spun in my previous post) and got a first hand demonstration of Portuguese traditional spinning.

Fui visitar a minha avó em Trás-os-Montes, em Mogadouro. A paisagem estava espectacular com as escovas amarelas em flor. Durante o fim de semana fui buscar a lã Churra Galega (que fotografei no último post, já fiada) e  tive uma demonstração especial pela minha avó de fiação tradicional portuguesa.

This is my gradmothers spindle. It looks very different from mine (comparison in the first picture) and is also feels very different. My grandmother spun like an expert, but I could barely make it spin for two seconds! It is much heavier, and has a spiral sulk instead of a wire to hold the yarn. People used this heavy spindle for every yarn they made, from wool and linen! It is very rudimentary, and yet it was all people had to make their clothes: poverty and isolation made self-sufficiency necessary.

Este é o fuso da minha avó. É muito diferente dos meus no que toca à aparência e ao funcionamento (comparação na primeira imagem). A minha avó fia como uma profissional, mas eu não consegui aguentar a rotação nem dois segundos! É muito mais pesado e tem uma marca em espiral em vez de uma argola em metal para aguentar o fio. As pessoas usavam este fuso pesadíssimo para fabricar todos os tipos de fio, com lã e linho! É muito rudimentar, mas era tudo o que tinham para fazer todas as roupas: a pobreza e o isolamento faziam da auto-suficiência uma necessidade.

This was my grandmother’s dyestaff, made by the great-grandfather, her father. He was known to make the best dyestaffs in the village. I learned how to spun with it, but I suppose I never got used to it. Women used to tuck them on their skirts (would ruin more delicate modern clothing ) and make a sort of uncarded rollag of wool called “manelo” and tie it around the dyestaff. There was also a bit of cork inside the dyestaff which is missing from this one.

Esta é a roca da minha avó, feita pelo seu pai, o meu bisavô. Aparentemente, ele era conhecido por fazer as melhores rocas. Aprendi como se fia com roca, mas não me habituei. As mulheres costumavam entalar a roca na beira da saia ( rasgaria logo qualquer vestimenta mais moderna e delicada) e fazer uma espécie de “rollag”, sem cardar a lã, só abrindo, que se chamava “manelo”, que amarravam à roca.  Havia também uma rodela de cortiça dentro da roca que esta já não tem.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

