Skip to content

WASHED! A wooly update – Lavada! Finalmente…

May 17, 2011

One week! Yesterday we finished washing all the wool. Just in time for a thunderstorm to break out! It’s drying now and I can’t wait to gte my hands on some. We might not have been the best handlers but I think it survived quite well. The whole: “careful, don’t sneeze or your wool will FELT!” thing in the books had me all scared. But it only felted whenn I decided to try machine washing a small ammount … Yes, I know: what was I thinking? My mother did not feel defeated: grabbed a comb and unfelted (?) all the wool untill it was fluffy again. Overall, no disasters so far then.

Uma semana! Ontem finalmente acabámos de lavar toda a lã. Mesmo a tempo, antes da chegada súbita de uma trovoada! Esta a secar e mal posso esperar para trabalhar com alguma. Talvez não tenhamos feito tudo exactamente como devia ser, mas acho que o material sobreviveu. Mas toda a aquela conversa de “cuidado, não espirrar sequer porque a lã pode feltrar!!!” era bastante assustador. Só feltrou quando decidi lavar um bocadinho na máquina. Eu sei… o que é que eu estava a pensar? A minha mãe não se deu por vencida e penteou-a toda e ficou como nova. Por isso, até agora, não há desastres de maior.

This last one is of my first carding experiment on some wool leftovers. Disappointing, but it was the wool’s fault. I have tried again on a better batch and got a really soft batt.

Esta última é a da minha primeira experiência com as cardas.  Fiquei um desapontada mas a culpa foi da lã (bocadinhos que tinham caído no chão). Tentei outra vez numa lã em condições e ficou muito melhor.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

